Our team consisted of 19 students and two instructors from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Each student was able to choose the medium they wished to report in from the following: print, television, documentary, radio or photojournalism. All contributed to the live blog.

The team worked together to generate story ideas; individual students then set up interviews, conducted research and gathered facts before we left and after we returned. Having a diverse and mobile newsroom this large allowed us to show the breadth and scope of Hurricane Harvey in ways not seen before as we fanned out across affected areas and reported for two days.


Amanda Becker

Evan Casey

Brittani Cook

Ethan Duran

Chardanay Hunt

Sabrina Johnkins

Joel Kananen

Tess Klein

Muru Li

Leah Mailloux

Hailey McLaughlin

Maggie Polsean

Talis Shelbourne

Nyesha Stone

Quin Voet

Alyssa Wiese

Paul Willems

Nia Wilson


Jessie Garcia Marble

Jessica McBride

Digital Media Specialist

Jeffrey John Loomis

Special thanks to theĀ Greater Milwaukee Foundation Journal Foundation/Walter Jay and Clara Charlotte Damm Fund. Their generous grant allowed us to take this trip.